Broadstone

Home  »  Ward Profiles  »  Broadstone

BROADSTONE is an area of mainly low density housing on the northern edge of the Borough of Poole abutting East Dorset District (Corfe Mullen) and Green Belt land between Poole and Wimborne.

The original settlement was once separate from Poole and some parts of the ward still retain elements of a ‘village’ character.

Broadstone began to expand during the Edwardian era, with the arrival of the railway (station closed in 1966). Most of the present day housing development dates from the inter-war period and the 1950s. The ward has an electorate (2015) of 8,516 voters.

Broadstone has a substantial, well used local shopping street (The Broadway) with many independent retailers, as well as a library, community centre, three schools, a pub, a sports hall, golf club and three churches. There is a frequent bus service between Wimborne and Poole and a long distance cycle path which follows the track of the former railway line.

Elected Representatives:

Borough of Poole Council www.poole.gov.uk (3 seats) May 2015:

Michael Brooke (LD)  e : m.brooke@poole.gov.uk

David Newell   (Con)  e :  d.newell@poole.gov.uk

Joanne Tomlin (Con)  e :  j.tomlin@poole.gov.uk

Ward Meetings for the Borough of Poole are held approximately bi-monthly.

Check www.poole.gov.uk/councilmeetings for details of dates and venues

Some Local Issues : Car Parking in the ’toast rack’; Car Park charges; Business Rates; Shop closures; Public Toilet closure; Proposed partial redevelopment.

 Election Results :

Borough of Poole – May 2015

LD    (3) M. Brooke 3534, R. Godfrey 2262, D. Hudswell 2097

Con  (3) D. Newell 2842, J. Tomlin 2547, M. Ujvari 2027

Grn   (3) K. Blake 371, M. Chivers 519, H. Highwater 417

UKIP (2) Alan Gerring 909, Barry Smith 808

Borough of Poole (2011) : LD (3) 2,559, 2,027, 2,016; CON (3) 1,994, 1,718, 1,684; GRN (1) 500;

UKIP (1) Alan Gerring 499

Local Publications : Daily Echo

Broadstone Link (monthly)      e : karen@broadstonelink.co.uk

Poole News (Borough of Poole) www.poole.gov.uk/poole-news 01202 633295

BH18 (Broadstone Residents Magazine): www.broadstoneresidents.org